User-agent: Mediapartners-Google* Disallow:

March 3, 2011

Energetic Systems of the Body: Auras and Chakras

by April Lalibert

A. Lalibert
The word chakra means "wheel." It is literally an energetic wheel of energy circulating within the human body. There are seven main chakras and many more minor chakras. The chakras contribute to a healthy aura, which is the body's overall energetic field. These two energetic systems complement each other and work together to contribute to a healthy functioning system.

The Seven Chakras
The wheels of energy are specific to certain areas of the body. Below gives an overview of the colors associated with each chakra, the chakra name, the activity it supports in the body and the areas of the body that are nourished by each area (given in that order).
  1. Red-Root-Survival-adrenal glands, legs, feet
    Chakras for Beginners
  3. Orange-Navel-Sexuality, Creativity-ovaries, testicles,womb, genitals
  4. Yellow-Solar Plexus-Personal power, control--stomach
  5. Green (purple)-Heart-Love-physical heart and hypothalamus
  6. Light Blue-Throat-Speaking your Truth-thyroid, vocal cords
  7. Indigo-Third Eye-Knowledge of Self-face, nervous system, pituitary
  8. White-Crown-Purest Being-Pineal gland, cerebrum
Chakras are easier to work with in the short term since they are healed directly by thoughts, intentions and influenced by gemstones and music. 

Click here for a simple chakra meditation to enhance and balance the flow of energy within the body.

Conversely, the opposite is true. They are affected in the short term which makes them susceptible to immediate negitive influences as well. Constant maintenance of the chakras is recommended, just like constant food is needed by the body for fuel.

The Human Aura

Vibrational Medicine R. Gerber M.D.
  The aura is directly affected by the chakras since together they make up the energetic system of the physical body. The Aura is what is seen or felt around the body. Aura photographs are a common way to view the aura. Changes in aura shape and color can be achieved by meditation, yoga, becoming a vegetarian or by a strict exercise regime. These changes come about not by trying, but instead by the body's natural reaction to the change in energetic activity level. For example, a man with "weak energy" might start exercising to feel stronger and have more energy during the day. This could translate to an increase of red energy in the aura because of the increased activity level.
The aura is slower to change than the chakras. It takes long-term cumulative efforts to change the color of one's aura. The aura changes in response to enlightenment, health, change of thought patterns and beliefs. It can also change as a result of connection with angels, spirit guides and ascended masters.

Dysfunction in the Energy Fields

Each Chakra responds to different colors, music, light, items in nature, and activities. Gemstones are the easiest way to restore energy and balance. Use healing crystals with the intention to heal the chakra, focus on the color that corresponds to the chakra and imagine a healthy and balanced chakra.
If depression is present in the physical body, the aura might be seen as very dark or full of holes. The holes can be healed by the addition of the right gemstone. Auras change in response to moods, stress or activity level associated with long term exposure. Sometimes sickness is seen in the aura that has not yet manifested in the physical body. In this case, the dis-ease can be dealt with energetically before it has a chance to manifest in the body; thereby lessening the effects on the body.

A malfunctioning chakra might be felt in the body as achiness, poor digestion, or as a physical "tightness." Malfunctioning chakras are a way for the body to get the attention it needs for healing. Focus on the area and intend for healing to happen. Use a similarly colored crystal to assist in the healing process of a specific chakra.